Intro
The National Testing Service (NTS) runs some of Pakistan’s most widely used admission and recruitment tests — from undergraduate entry to MS/MPhil, PhD and law-graduate assessments. This guide explains which NTS test you need, how registration works on the official portal, what the verified fees are, and how to prepare — using only facts from NTS’s own website (nts.org.pk), with study advice clearly labelled as editorial guidance rather than official rules.
Key points
- NTS (National Testing Service – Pakistan) is Pakistan’s first self-sustained testing organization; it conducts tests for admissions, scholarships, recruitment and promotions. Head office: Plot # 96, Street # 4, H-8/1, Islamabad. Official call center: +92-51-844-444-1; email query@nts.org.pk.
- Test types: NAT (undergraduate admissions), GAT-General (MS/MPhil), GAT-Subject (PhD), LAW-GAT (advocate enrolment), plus TOEIC, TOEFL-ITP and project-based recruitment tests.
- Validity: NAT result valid 1 year; GAT-General and GAT-Subject valid 2 years each.
- Verified fees: GAT-General Rs. 1,810 (late Rs. 2,510); GAT-Subject Rs. 2,210 (late Rs. 3,010). The NAT fee is not stated on NTS’s current official pages — do not trust blog figures.
- Registration is online through nts.org.pk; the roll number slip is uploaded at least 7 days before the test.
- Test day: bring your original roll number slip plus original CNIC (or passport/B-Form); mobile phones and calculators are not allowed; mark answers with a blue or black ball pen.
- Important: NTS publishes test schedules and full test-day instructions on its site, but no official sample-paper library could be found — this guide explains what to study instead.
What is NTS?
The National Testing Service was established in 2002 as a project under the National Education Policy (1998–2010) and the IT Policy of the Government of Pakistan. It describes itself as Pakistan’s first self-sustained testing organization, governed by a Board of Directors, conducting tests and assessments for admissions, scholarships, recruitment and promotions. (Source: nts.org.pk — About Us.)
Which NTS test do you need?
NTS lists its current test products officially. The four most relevant for students are:
| Test | Official purpose | Key facts |
|---|---|---|
| NAT (National Aptitude Test) | Admissions to undergraduate programs of NTS Associated Universities and Degree Awarding Institutions (DAIs) | One test makes you eligible for all associated universities in your subject group; you then apply to universities with a copy of your NTS Result Card. Scored out of 100. Result valid 1 year. |
| GAT-General | Admissions to MS/MPhil (18 years of education) programs in HEC-recognized universities/DAIs; also used for HEC and Ministry of Education scholarships | Described by NTS as similar to the international GRE-General. Sections reported on the official result card: English, Analytical, Quantitative (plus accumulative and percentile scores). Eligibility: minimum 16 years of education. Valid 2 years. |
| GAT-Subject | PhD programs in all universities of Pakistan; also used for recruitment/promotions by public and private organizations | Similar to GRE-Subject. Eligibility: minimum 18 years of education. Candidates may re-apply to improve a previous score. Valid 2 years. |
| LAW-GAT | Law graduates seeking enrolment as advocates (assigned by the Pakistan Bar Council) | Eligibility: LL.B final year from a PBC-recognized university, minimum 17 years of education; maximum three chances; 50% score required to qualify. |
Other official NTS products include TOEIC, TOEFL-ITP, the National Teachers Database (NTDP), the Medical Representatives Certification Program (MRCP), customized recruitment tests and e-marking.
Note on test structure: NTS’s current pages do not state the exact number of questions, section-wise marks or durations for NAT and GAT-General (the older detail pages return 404). Third-party websites give conflicting figures — treat those as unverified. For your specific test, the structure in the official test-day instructions and result card is what counts.
Watch this: news reports (May–June 2026) said HEC would make GRE/HAT through the Education Testing Council mandatory for MS/MPhil/PhD admissions, deferred to 2027, with universities continuing their own tests (including NTS GAT) during 2026. This was not verified against an official HEC notification — check both nts.org.pk and hec.gov.pk for the latest status before planning around it.
Registration — step by step (official process)
These steps come from NTS’s official GAT pages:
- Register once on the NTS online registration portal at nts.org.pk.
- Upload a recent photograph with full face exposure.
- Fill in personal, academic (major subjects, secured marks %, board/university) and employment information.
- Apply for the announced test project from the list in the portal, and select a primary and a secondary test city.
- Download the bank deposit slip from the portal only — never use a slip forwarded on WhatsApp.
- Pay the fee via 1Link 1Bill participating banks, ATM, internet banking, mobile banking, EasyPaisa, JazzCash or TCS Express Counters.
- Incomplete or improperly filled registrations are not processed.
- A provisional eligible-candidates list appears within about a week; queries are accepted for a few days only, then the final list is published (see the official “How to Apply” guide at datacell.nts.org.pk/HowToApply).
- Your roll number slip is uploaded at least 7 days before the test, with an SMS intimation to your mobile number.
Verified fees
| Test | Normal fee | Late fee |
|---|---|---|
| GAT-General | Rs. 1,810 | Rs. 2,510 |
| GAT-Subject | Rs. 2,210 | Rs. 3,010 |
(Source: official NTS GAT pages.) Bank service charges shown on the deposit slip may apply. The NAT fee is not stated on NTS’s current official pages — figures circulating on blogs are unverified, so confirm the fee on your test’s deposit slip.
How to prepare (study advice — not official NTS rules)
This section is practical editorial advice. NTS publishes schedules and test-day instructions, but no official sample-paper library was found on nts.org.pk — so do not buy “official NTS sample papers” from third parties.
- Know your sections. GAT-General is reported in English, Analytical and Quantitative sections — prepare all three, not just your strongest. NAT is scored out of 100.
- Rebuild foundations first (weeks 1–2). For quantitative: basic arithmetic, algebra, ratios, percentages and data interpretation. For verbal: vocabulary in context, reading comprehension and grammar. For analytical: logical puzzles and relationships. Use your intermediate-level textbooks — they match the difficulty level.
- Practise GRE-style material. Since NTS itself compares GAT-General to the GRE-General and GAT-Subject to the GRE-Subject, GRE-style verbal, quantitative and analytical practice questions are the closest widely available preparation material.
- Train under time pressure (final 2 weeks). Sit full-length timed practice sessions with no phone nearby. Speed matters as much as knowledge in aptitude-style tests.
- Master the answer sheet. NTS rules: shade/fill circles with a blue or black ball pen; shading two answers for one question scores zero; overwriting or cutting near a circle may be marked zero. Practise neat, single-shade marking so you don’t lose marks to sloppy filling.
- Common mistakes: studying only strong sections; memorising answers instead of methods; ignoring analytical reasoning; leaving preparation to the last week; trusting unverified “paper pattern” posts on social media instead of NTS’s own instructions.
Test-day checklist (official rules)
- Report at the time specified on your roll number slip — no entry after that time.
- Bring your roll number slip — without it, no candidate is entertained.
- Bring original identification: the slip plus one of — original CNIC, original passport, original B-Form (if under 18), or original NADRA token slip with a valid government photo document. Under-18 candidates must bring the original B-Form and an SSC certificate with photograph.
- Leave these at home: mobile phones are not allowed in test centre premises; calculators and calculator wrist watches are prohibited.
- Use a blue or black ball pen for the answer sheet. Two blank sheets for rough work are provided inside the sealed booklet — bring no extra stationery.
- Question booklets come in five different shuffles and stay sealed until the test starts. All papers are collected at the end — no one may keep any part of the booklet.
- Do not leave your seat without an invigilator’s escort. Late arrival, cheating material, communicating with other candidates, removing test material or causing a disturbance leads to disqualification and possible legal action.
Test cities and 2026 schedules
NTS lists 13 compulsory test cities — Islamabad/Rawalpindi, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta, Faisalabad, Multan, Bahawalpur, Dera Ghazi Khan, Gujranwala, Hyderabad, Sukkur and Mirpur — plus optional cities that run with a minimum of 200 registered fee-paid candidates.
Published 2026 schedules (check nts.org.pk for updates): GAT-General 2026 has 8 tests, the next being GAT-G-VIII on Sunday, 13 December 2026; GAT-Subject 2026 has 6 tests, the next being GAT-SUB-VI on Sunday, 15 November 2026.
FAQs
How long is my NTS result valid?
NAT: 1 year from the test date. GAT-General and GAT-Subject: 2 years each. (Official NTS pages.)
Is there negative marking?
NTS’s current official pages do not state a negative-marking policy for NAT/GAT — the one rule they do state is that shading two answers for a single question scores zero. Do not trust blog claims about negative marking; follow the instructions printed on your test day.
Where are the official sample papers?
No official sample-paper download library was found on nts.org.pk as of 20 October 2026. Prepare from intermediate textbooks and GRE-style practice material (editorial advice), and rely on NTS’s published test-day instructions for format.
Can I improve my GAT-Subject score?
Yes — NTS states candidates wanting to improve a previous GAT-Subject score may re-apply.
What if I miss my test date?
Tests run on announced dates and are not rescheduled for individuals. If your roll number slip has an error, use the query window after the provisional eligible-candidates list — it is only open for a few days.
Official sources and related reading
- National Testing Service — official website: nts.org.pk
- Official test products: nts.org.pk/test-products.php
- Official GAT-General page: nts.org.pk/new/GAT-G.php/css/achievements.php
- Official GAT-Subject page: nts.org.pk/new/GAT-S.php
- Official step-by-step “How to Apply”: datacell.nts.org.pk/HowToApply
- NTS FAQs: nts.org.pk/faqs.php
Related on Sindh Study Hub:
